- Motor Vehicle
- Sales & Use Tax
Sales & Use Tax
Vehicle Sales & Use Tax Sale
The County Treasurer collects a sales or use tax on all vehicle purchases except motorcycles purchased from a Wyoming dealer:
A sales or use tax is due prior to first registration of a vehicle.
Sales tax applies where the purchase of the vehicle occurred in Wyoming, and is due in 65 days. Penalties will begin collecting a 1% per month interest fee starting with the 66th day, and a civil fee or the greater of $25 or 10% of the tax beginning the 66th day, so if tax is not paid in 65 days, then the customer will receive the penalties.
Use tax applies where the purchase occurred outside of Wyoming and is for the use, storage or consumption of the vehicle within Wyoming.
A sales or use tax due can be paid without registering the vehicle. This can be done without a Wyoming title but requires a dealer invoice, purchase order or notarized bill of sale specifying:
- Date of Purchase
- Vehicle Identification Number
If a newly acquired vehicle is a gift, proof that the giver paid sales or use tax is required. This can be in the form of a paid receipt or prior registration. Sales or use tax will be collected on the fair market value absent the required proof.
Non-Resident Active Duty Military
Non-resident, active duty military are not exempt from the payment of sales or use taxes on any vehicle purchase.
Current Tax Rate
The current tax rate for Albany County is 6% and is determined by the tax rate effective for the county of the purchaser’s principle residence on date of sale. For sales and use tax rates of all Wyoming Counties, visit the Wyoming Department of Revenue’s website.